We all had a blast at the APS Awards Banquet December 8th at Cafe Lily in Decatur! Thirty+ members attended, the food was excellent, libations flowed smoothly, and everyone enjoyed great conversation and company.

Masters “Best in Show” Images

Best of the Year image honors went to these three special photographs.

First Place Digital - Friday Night Rumble by Marc McElhaney

First Place Mono - Poison Ivy by Chris Handley

First Place Color - Winter Roundup by Mike Shaefer

Please be sure to view all the other Masters Competition winners in the Winners Gallery.  Here are the APS photographers who took home those ribbons.

Masters Color Winners - Mike, Shekar, Don, Kathryn, Marc and Brandon

Masters Mono Winners - Darryl, Chris, Shekar and Marc

Masters Digital Winners - Marc, Shekar, Brandon, Chris and Kathryn

Photographers of the Year

Marc McElhaney was honored as Creative Photographer of the Year, Monochrome Photographer of the Year and Digital Photographer of the Year!  Great shooting Marc!!  And Janerio Morgan took home the Color Photographer of the Year award for the second year in a row.

Marc McElhaney - Creative Photographer of the Year, Mono Photographer of the Year, and Digital Photographer of the Year!!

Janerio Morgan - Color Photographer of the Year (2 years in a row!)


New member Rohit Kamboj received our "Rookie of the Year" medal as the highest scorer among first time 2016 members.  Rohit missed the Banquet and will receive his award during our first meeting of 2017.

And Mike Shaefer came away with the Presentation medal for his superb talk on his Cuba images.  This is his 4th Presentation award in a row!

Mike Shaefer - Presentation Medal

Special Awards

The Club's Service Award was renamed as the Helene Mewborn/Ed Calhoun Service Award to honor the recent passing of five-time President Ed Calhoun.  Ed actually initiated this award to honor Helene's service, so we are very proud to continue the tradition by remembering the history of our outstanding club.  

Ed Calhoun - Five-time President and Originator of the Service Award

This year's honoree was your outgoing President, Jim Harrison.

Jim Harrison - 2016 Service Award

According to Jim, "If had known it was even possible for a photography club to have a crisis, I would never have volunteered to be President!"

Roy Gordon - Lifetime Achievement Award - 2016

Finally, the APS Lifetime Achievement Award was bestowed to long-time member Roy Gordon.  

Roy Gordon - Lifetime Achievement Award - 2016

His citation reads:

For outstanding contributions to photography and to the Society through: His service as a club officer: twice as President, twice as Secretary and twice as Treasurer. His outstanding photography and club competition record: twice Creative Photographer of the Year, and six time Color Photographer of the Year. And his service to photography in the Atlanta area as President of three prominent photography clubs, and as photographer of the year of all three clubs.

Roy continues to assist APS with judging and by sharing his still outstanding photography through occasional programs.  Thank you Roy!

APS has had a great year during 2016 and we are looking forward to an even more creative 2017.  See you in January. 

Peace from Shekar - Awards Banquet at Cafe Lily