Atlanta Photographic Society

The Atlanta Photographic Society is a photography club established for the enjoyment of people sharing an interest in photography. APS is a non-profit organization established for photographers from the "Beginner to the Professional". 

Members participate in monthly and annual photo competitions and photo critiques, educational programs, field trips, exhibitions and the annual awards banquet.

FREE to Visit

What's in Your Bag? – 2020 Workshop

  • Meeting Schedule

    Photo Competition Nights

    The 2nd Thursday of each month at 7:30 PM (except December) is dedicated to judged competitions in Black & White Prints, Color Prints, and Digital Entries. Ribbons are awarded to the winners in each category. See our Competition Schedule. See our Competition Schedule.

    Program Nights

    The 4th Thursday of each month (see calendar for exceptions) is for programs. These may include “Photo shows”, “Presentations” by members and guests, or “How to” instructional presentations. See our Program Schedule.

    In addition to the two monthly meetings we also do Weekend shoots, Assignment competitions, and the Annual Salon Show during October in conjunction with “Atlanta Celebrates Photography”. This show, like our monthly competitions, is judged and certificates are awarded to the winners.

  • Meeting Location

    First Baptist Church of Decatur
    308 Clairemont Avenue
    Decatur, Georgia, 30030

    First Baptist Church of Decatur

    Map - First Baptist Decatur


    • First Baptist Decatur is conveniently located at the North-West corner of Clairemont & Commerce in Downtown Decatur, GA
    • Parking is on the North side of the church off Clairemont. 
    • Enter through main entrance on the North side of church – under the covered drive. We will have a greeter at the door.
    • Our meeting Room is on the 3rd Floor - the “Pilgrims” Conference Room. Take the elevator (or stairs) to the 3rd floor. We will have signs to make it easy to find.

    Main Business Entrance - North Side of the Church, next to the parking lot

  • Membership

    Visit any of our regular meetings and look us over as often you wish. If you decide to join the club, talk to any of the “official” looking people and they will direct you to the right person.

    Membership is required to participate in competitions and exhibitions. For all members who participate in our monthly competitions, competition entry fees are $2 per category (color, mono and digital) per competition, payable at each competition or a one-time annual fee of $40. Exhibition fees are established for each club show.

  • E-mail Membership

    Upon your payment of your email membership dues to the club you may use the APS upload Page to send up to 3 images per month at a size of approx. 1920 pixels max - long side, resolution of 300 pixels/inch, saved as a JPG with an image quality of 8 (High).

    The deadline for sending in those images is 12 midnight Tuesday before the competition day (see calendar on our web site). Your images will be entered in our digital category together with digital images from our regular members. The images will be critiqued and judged together. If any of your submitted images receive ribbons you will be informed by email. Any ribbons that you receive will be collected and sent to you by regular mail twice a year.

    All images that do not receive ribbons will be deleted from our database. Images that have received ribbons will be saved in our database and will automatically be entered in the master competition (digital category only) in November. All winning images will be entered and judged by all members present and the members will award an additional “Best of the Year” ribbon for the winning image.

  • Leadership Team

    2021 Officers and Committees

    President: Mike Shaefer

    Vice President: Elsie Allen

    Secretary: Janerio Morgan

    Communications Coordinator: Jim Harrison

    Web Master: Chris Handley 

    Competition Chair: Rohit Kamboj

    • Digital, Scores and Records: Rohit Kamboj
    • Competition Meetings: Diego Espinoza
    • Judges: Darryl Neill, Mike Shaefer, Al McLeod,  & Janerio Morgan
    • Awards: Rohit Kamboj, Al McLeod and Mike Shaefer
    • Salon: Darryl Neill, Mike Shaefer and Jen Cardinell
    • Photographers' Theme Exhibition: Jim Harrison and Mike Shaefer
    • PSA Competitions: Marc McElhaney

    Treasurer: Denise Stein

    Refreshments Coordinator: Mike Shaefer

    Door Coordinator: Mike Shaefer 

  • 2021 Website Design Award
  • 2020 Website Design Award
  • 2018 Website Design Award
  • 2017 Website Design Award

© 2021 Snowball Creative Group, LLC. All rights reserved.